2013 Undergraduate Juried Exhibition Awards Lists

Purchase Award

A purchase award is when the patron selects a piece from all entries that were submitted and the entire contribution goes right back to the students.


Purchase Awards List

Schapiro Purchase Award         

Sarah Gregory             

Karenmarie Marley       
           Lauren Copley                          
           Taylor Rongolt
            Lyndsey Walegur

            English Grant


Plumb Purchase Award

            Nicole Davenport

            Sarah Kinard


Mitchell Purchase Award

            Bryanna Smith


Derksen Purchase Award

            Corey Pope


President’s Purchase Award       
Mat Duncan


Dean’s Purchase Award            
Sara Scherini   


Oliver Purchase Award             
           Matt Horick

           Sam Oliver

Dalton Best in Show &
Juror’s Honorable Mention

These were awards that were chosen specifically by the Juror.


Dalton’s 2nd Place Award

Dalton’s Best In Show Award

Dalton’s 3rd Place Award 

  Fernando Pena - thirst    Matt Horick - Oscar  Nicole Davenport – Tea for Who


The Undergraduate Juried Exhibition is an opportunity for visually creative freshman to
senior level students to exhibit in a professional gallery setting.
Artist, curator and alumni, Paul Matheny, is this year’s juror who has selected
an exhibition from a variety of media and disciplines including painting, drawing,
sculpture, jewelry/metals, photography, ceramics, design, and printmaking.  

The opening reception Fri. April 5, 2013 was a special night of
entertainment and awards celebrating 25 years.


Merit Award

A merit award is when the patron recognizes a
student’s overall achievement. These can also

be chosen by the department.


Merit Awards List


Mueller Merit Award

            Sarah Kinard

            Laura Stager


Newman Merit Award

            Caleb Sauls


Larsen Merit Awards    

            Sarah Cason

            Erin Mitchell


CVPA Dean’s Merit Award

            Sarah Kinard

            Christopher Smalls


Lewandowski Merit Awards

            Erin Stuart

            Eric Padgett

            Josiah Blevins


Department of Fine Arts Merit Award   

            Samantha Oliver


The Dutchpress Merit Award

Curation is an art form, one that should be celebrated and rewarded as much as paint on canvas, graphite on paper or metal on earth. The Dutchpress merit award is presented to the student whose social and creative ingenuity connects and empowers his or her fellow artists. This student's interdisciplinary creativity, vision, and wit permeate realms outside of the university context, curating and creating a variety of art forms. Unselfish and humble in spirit, this student forms the center of collaboration amongst artists around them.


Dutch Press Merit Award

           Guild of Emerging Metalsmiths


The Tom Stanley Merit Award

           Chelsea Arthur


Gallery Patrons Award  

           Matt Horick


Museum & Gallery Practices Award       

           Casey Shelton